The Moorish Wanderer

2013 Resolutions

Posted in Tiny bit of Politics by Zouhair ABH on January 5, 2013

That is strange, I didn’t realize I created a draft blogpost for 2013 resolution. But since you’ve asked…

Eat healthy and exercise often: I have started on that, and I intend to keep it up. Quite frankly, I did not realize physical activities like sport had such a liberating effect; it gives the opportunity to clear one’s mind, and I think some of my best ideas (on paper at least) have fermented during my long evening walks.

Read more stuff: that’s a given, although I will try to diversify my reading list, with some literature from every possible language. Now that I have decided to take up Arabic as my default setting language for the blog, I’d better get down to it and read more of it. Plus it is a fun assignment, so that will not be such a shore after all.

Write more stuff: I would like to write a dozen of working papers and/or drafts by the end of this year. I shall do my very best. I mean papers, serious output that won’t be laughed out of academia. Grey and Dull.

Be nicer to people: smooth some rough edges, and perhaps come finally to the conclusion not everyone shares my Weltschauung, or my own interests. The first one I caught on to it pretty early on, the second I have to come to grips with it. I should also apologize to the acquaintances I have pushed on some of these issues.

Be a “realist”: I though I was quite the cynical observer of Moroccan politics, seems I do come across as idealistic, perhaps the very embodiment of the Nihilist activist I wouldn’t like to be. On the other hand, I suppose my perpetual frustration with the snail-paced evolution of democratic reforms in Morocco will keep me on my toes and fuel the inner Nihilism I shall embrace.

Go Geeky: I really need to shake up my IT knowledge. There are pieces of software I need to master, and I shall do my utmost to achieve it.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mixour said, on January 5, 2013 at 02:26

    Good luck for the resolutions !
    And here is for going geekier : We never say softwares, but pieces of software :p
    cheers mate, and thanks for the great presentation.

    • Zouhair Baghough said, on January 5, 2013 at 06:50

      Quite so! I now understand why the autocorrect deleted the ‘s’ at the end🙂

  2. Andaloussi said, on January 10, 2013 at 17:35

    “Eat healthy and exercise often”

    This. Can’t stress it enough!

    “Now that I have decided to take up Arabic as my default setting language for the blog, I’d better get down to it and read more of it”

    If the principle of linguistic relativity is anything to go by, you’ll get dumber and end up compromising what vigilance and critical skills you have. Languages were not created equal nor from a vacuum.

    “Plus it is a fun assignment, so that will not be such a shore after all.”

    Case in point: It’s chore!

    “Write more stuff”

    I’d recommend writing better stuff. Any asshat with minimal skills can flood the world with bottom-tier papers.

    “Be nicer to people”

    Fuck people! Be nice for its own sake and not to please others.

    If you start tuning your behavior to how others react to it, you might as well drop all pretense of intellectualism and embrace sweet salvatory hypocrisy.

    “I though I was quite the cynical observer of Moroccan politics, seems I do come across as idealistic”

    It all depends on your reference point. For me, you’re as utilitarian as they come!

    What is truly messed up is that you’re driven to more realism in its (obsolete) kantian sense by a bunch of anti-realists (the latter is to be understood in the contemporary philosophical sense).

    “Go Geeky: I really need to shake up my IT knowledge. There are pieces of software I need to master”

    Geekiness implies an interest in the inner workings of technology. You’re a long way!

    There! My resolution for 2013 is to stop visiting pretentious but shitty blog.

  3. emad moro said, on January 16, 2013 at 19:43

    Best of luck to you
    and good luck for the arabic part must not be that easy to use arabic in the keyboard😉


Leave a Reply

