The Moorish Wanderer

2013 Ahead

Posted in Read & Heard by Zouhair ABH on January 2, 2013

Season’s Greetings, Y’all!

“Here I stand, I can do no other” said a precursor of tagging around the 16th century. Blogging for a little over 4 years has been a most rewarding experience, and I do wish I can keep on posting about stuff I care about. I will of course, do my best to continue in this endeavour.

Yet there is always this discrepancy between my own expectations as to in-depth economic analysis, and the present output the mainstream media and, at a large extent, the academia as well. My own crusade (or Jihad, depending on your cultural reference) on fighting economic illiteracy, has been a failure. It was not ambitious enough, it did not seek to spread the Gospel as it were, but I now come to the conclusion I may have been overly elitist. I cannot hope to achieve a larger readership if I keep restricting access with discriminatory language. Much better to go native, especially with so little knowledge of these statistics over there.

So be it. My 2013 resolution will be to turn the Blog around, first by leaving out English as a main language, and put more effort into blogging in Arabic, since that’s where the action is. I will of course keep on posting in French and English as well. I apologise in advance for rookie spelling mistakes and the like, my Arabic is a bit rusty, but I can brush it off with good practise.

For technical papers (and I know my readers are very fond of these) I will be posting short pieces on my draft papers from this link. I also have a column with Lakome in French, for more news-oriented pieces.

Thank you for taking the time to read the blog, I do appreciate it.

سنة ميلادية سعيدة للجميع

نشرت على هاته التدوينة خلال السنوات الأربع السالفة، وكانت تجربة غنية و إجابية بلا ريب، و أود إحاث بعض التغييرات على المحتوى و كذا تقديم المقالات المنشورة. يتضح جليا أن إختياري للغة الإنجليزية كلغة رئيسية للمدونة، و الهدف المعلن لمحاربة الجهل بالأمور الإقتصادية هدفين يتعارضين، وجب للأول أن ينسحب أمام الثاني. فلهذا قررت لسنة 2013 أن أركز على العربية، مع الإحتفاظ بالفرنسية و كذا الإنجليزية في بعض التدوينات. و قررت كذلك التخلي عن المقالات التحليلية الطويلة، و التركيز على المقالات الأكاديمية التي سأنشرها على صفحتي المخصصة لهذا الغرض. فلا داعي للإستشهاد برموز رياضية إن كان غرض القارئ هو البحث عن تحليل يبسط تفسير الواقع، عوض تعقيده

فسأنشر تدوينات قصيرة و ملخصة، تفتح النقاش بروابط تنقل القارئ المهتم إلى مقالات أكثر تعقيدا و تفصيلا في الموضوع المطروح. أعتذر مسبقا عن فقر تركيباتي النحوية، و أيضا عن الأخطاء التي قد أرتكبها في التدوينات، ذلك للفترة الطويلة التي مرت دون أن أكتب أكثر من جملة بالعربية، فربما حان الوقت أن أتمرن على ذلك ما دمت أريد المساهمه في النقاش حول المواضيع الإقتصادية، و التقرب من أكبر عدد ممكن من مستعملي الإنترنيت للإشارة، فموقع لكم الإلكتروني ينشر عمودا لي، في هذا الرابط

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ismail fikri said, on January 2, 2013 at 02:09

    Sana saida Mr Zouhair, et milles bravo pour ta persistance et ta pertinence. Aussi bonne initiative que celle d ouvrir le blog au lectorat arabophone.

    Laka koulou ta9dirati wa ta7iati l7arra.

    keep on postin we keep on readin and sometimes leavin comment.

    all the best

    • Zouhair Baghough said, on January 3, 2013 at 12:16

      سنة سعيدة يا إسماعيل! كل عام و أنت بخير. شكرا لزياراتك على المدونة، و أتمنى أن أكون في مستوى تطلعاتك في تدوينات المستقبلة بالعربية🙂


Leave a Reply

