The Moorish Wanderer

The King’s Speech (That Shook Morocco)

Sorry, but the pun was too obvious not to state, and I always wanted to quip about John Reed’s book (‘Ten Days that Shook the World’)

Frankly, I wasn’t expecting it. I was expecting something bland, written in traditional makhzenite with blurry objectives and pompous expressions inherited from the glorious era of Hassan II. I was referring to the speech-writers of course (well, the constitution is bound to be changed, so I can afford to discuss the speech, am I not?) But no. The one thing that eluded the Monarch since he inherited the throne, the constitutional reform is finally on the table. When previous speeches read and minutely deciphered, the upheavals in North Africa and the Middle East, and domestically the stalwart dedication of ‘February 20th’ movement did play some significant part in gently pushing the core policymakers into a major shift in their political tactics (I still have doubts whether there’s a sensible strategy, or any organized thinking on the long-term)

The Blogoma already started to post on the Speech: Larbi, DocteurHo and BigBrother, to name but the well-known few, already spoke their minds (well, some did, others just plugged into propaganda-mode) and the Twittoma is saturating with opinions and 140 characters-strong discussions. I wish I could contribute too and live up to the standards they set (famous or infamous may they are). Perhaps with the benefit of hindsight, I would dismiss this very post as too premature and ill-informed, but still, I would like to venture an alternative view; Because let’s face it, historical tough it is, all indicators, hints and symbols are cleat about one thing: nothing essential is changing or likely to change.

His shadow looms over the upcoming constitutional reform

But then again, for all the disagreement with, say, DocteurHo, I should admit my gut-feeling over this: it remains a historical day (I allowed for a joyful shout briefly when I heard about the constitutional referendum!). Not for the upcoming constitutional referendum -a consultation on which I will most certainly vote ‘No’, unless some very, very unexpected project is presented to the People’s will. It is historical because less than two months ago, what was considered to be a definitely confirmed balance of political strength heavily in favour of the Monarchy, has been suddenly reset to a different equilibrium. We have moved from an executive monarchy –with no constitutional reform agenda in sight- to a blitzkrieg-style commission with a June 2011 deadline. In 10 years reign, it is going to be His Majesty’s first constitutional referendum: such electoral consultation is quite different from regular general and local elections. It is a decisive test no doubt. And contrary to ‘classical’ elections, He needs a clear win, overkill: even a 70-80% win is a half-defeat for him. This is my view of the referendum, but then again I am getting ahead of myself.  Overall, the official line is likely to be that of a giant political and institutional spring cleaning, but not in the ‘right way’ (i.e. a genuine political reform agenda). I should exercise caution here, a ‘wait-and-see’ till the commission members are officially called up. Caution doesn’t prevent one from expressing views, or speculating about the future, does it?

I did mention that as a self-defined left-wing radical, and with a lawyer like Abdellatif Mennouni heading the commission, I would find any proposal (again, unless there’s some fireworks surprise) well below my minimal set of grievances: I’d very much doubt the new constitution would abolish altogether Art. 19 or change the succession rules to be gender-neutral. I don’t expect the new constitution to even get close to confirm institutions like the Kingdom’s Mediator and existing institutions as constitutionally independent like the Supreme Court, the Court Audit or the Central Bank, I wouldn’t expect the King to relinquish all executive powers and perform essentially honorary duties. And most of all, I don’t expect the new constitution to write a precise notice of establishing a constitutional convention for all core institutional changes. But still, this is an opportunity window (small, cloistered and actual reforms are unlikely to fit in) but still, a window. I have to pluck up my good faith and summon all my hopes to say that this is a historical opportunity (again, historical because it has been broached on us, and for a long time!)

I’m actually in two minds: best case scenario, the commission gets out of (Royal) hands; a maverick like Mohamed Sassi would do wonderful damages to the cranky Makhzenian legislation, and we end up with a ‘moderate’ but certainly workable constitution that gets unanimous support. Hopefully an election is called up and a strong coalition rules with a charismatic Prime Minister. There’s another dream scenario, whereby the government calls up for a constitutional convention in a year or two years time with nationwide debates, but this is too orgasmic for me to contemplate…

Worst case scenario, the only real thing that changes is the ‘regionalization’ stuff, with an upgraded version of the 1997 local government bill. End of story, end of constitutional changes, end of the line. Next. It depends on how bold His Majesty’s moves are going to be, and whether His circle would now understand it is high time they dealt out substantial scores of Royal prerogatives and transfer them to the people’s representatives.

So here’s my opinion: I’ve heard the speech -live- and then read it in extenso. I had a quick discussion with a number of friends about it.

Realistically, it is not going to be satisfactory to me or those close to my political leanings, nor would it meet the set of grievances put forward by the Feb20 movement and the non-mainstream political parties supporting the protest. But it does show that somehow, somewhere behind the walls of Bab Assoufara, the policy-makers finally awoke to the need to change the fuse. An acquittance of mine has this interesting theory about the Makhzen and its favourite fuses:  whenever a crisis looms, Makhzen elite either hold on to the existing fuse (a political party like the USFP in 1998, or the Sahara issue since 1975) or when the incumbent burns up, there’s a quick switch, and a brand new fuse is brought in and manage to exhaust the dissidence (the fuse in question can be a technocratic don like Jettou in 2002 or Azzimane in 2010, a turned-out dissident like Herzenni or Sebbar), which gives the impression of deep reforms but concedes in reality nothing substantial. It is not remote from the realm of possibility that this seemingly audacious announcement is  a smokescreen constitutional changes.

I would selflessly contribute to such scheme by joining the Central Bank –or the Finance Ministry- for fresh input and ideas. (if anyone scanning the blog from the Royal Cabinet’s office, please contact me for more information, you’d gain a lot with a yahoo, gun-ho leftie within the Establishment, believe me !)

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. CZR said, on March 10, 2011 at 02:28

    This speech almost does not make any sense whatsoever. Why is the King all of a sudden talking about regionalization? Is it a new idea the Makhzen is trying to put on the table in Malta? How does this relate to the demands of the protesters (corruption, human rights, dignity, poverty, democracy, freedom of speech)?

    I am completely befuddled. I find it very indecent to be mentioning the IER in this speech, knowing that as we speak, a lot of people are being tortured in the most brutal and middle-aged ways one can think of, in the Temara and Sale prisons. It seems to me that this is a panic movement: they’re confusing national policy with foreign policy. Hiding behind the obvious won’t do (e.g: “I’ll appoint the PM).

  2. Marocain said, on March 10, 2011 at 10:25

    Why did you block my comment?

  3. Khalid B said, on March 10, 2011 at 10:30

    Well, “all of sudden” is actually months of study by Omar Azziman in order to present the Regionalization project to the king…

    Do you have names of people jailed at Temara and Sale and proof of them being tortured please?

  4. mouka said, on March 11, 2011 at 02:43

    I think it is too early to celebrate. The king is NOT going to give up ANYTHING unless he is forced to.
    It’s sad to say, but that’s the way the Moroccan monarchy plays the game.
    I would recommend you do what most of us did, find a job abroad and forget about that Makhzenian shit hole we call Morocco.
    It’s despairing when I see Moroccans celebrating as if they have just ousted the king and established a democratic country. Once we reach a critical mass of Moroccans that are well educated, then change will happen, in the meantime, we can dream and post about our fantasies.


Leave a Reply

