The Moorish Wanderer

Wandering Thoughts Vol.1: Mood Piece n°1

Posted in Ancient Times, Happy Times, Flash News, Read & Heard, The Wanderer by Zouhair ABH on October 4, 2010

Productivity. I am a great fan of it, but sadly I cannot find a way to apply it in my everyday life. May be it goes back to prep school; You know, a huge workload to get through and little time to understand how and why things are done in class, so basically boorish-like homework ensues and takes their toll on sleeping hours all depending on how desperate I was on certain subjects. But it was totally worth it and the objective was quite clear. Now it is not so, or rather it is trickier than it used to be. And I really need to get my head to work better. Never mind that, a gentle banter is what we need now, don’t we?

Dita Von Teese, posing for a Wonderbra Ad

I am very fond of Dita Von Teese, not a huge fan of course, but she does appeal to the reactionary side of my preferences (especially in terms of feminine clothing, that goes without saying). who in their right mind wouldn’t fall for such gorgeous body (and such gorgeous attire as well)? In case you didn’t notice (or didn’t know, fair enough) this is a cheap attempt to bolster my audience. Do you know what is the all time hitter article in this blog? Yes, the one about Neo-Burlesque, a bad piece I wrote a some months ago to let off a bit of steam at a time I felt very down hearted.

Oh, and highest occurrence of googled words that led to this blog are also referring to Dita (and surprisingly, many do not know how to spell the name correctly) The main difference with the previous article is that I won’t bore you with schmoozing sociological mumbo jumbo, but rather discuss in simple terms why Dita’s torrid sex-appeal transcends generations and tastes as  she is, in my opinion, quite the quintessential symbol of beauty and erotica. I am aware I do some damage to this blog’s reputation as an austere yet technical and utterly devoted to serious matters, but it takes all sorts and frankly unless I am given a position as professional economist in an investment bank (or better still at Bank Al Maghrib with high salary and amenable perks) or even a column in The Economist, I can bloody well write what I like! thank you.

So Dita Von Teese… What is it about her then? The vintage charm perhaps. She managed quite well to embody the pin-ups of the first half of 20th century, very erotic indeed, with a touch of provocation that does never veer off to vulgarity or obscenity come to think of that.

Or is it because she embodies such class when mainstream superstars look so similar and at times merely interchangeable. Or perhaps because she is not mainstream, yet very close to be a world-class celebrity (I read somewhere she is to be a guest star in the US thriller TV showCSI). Still and all, here charms, here dresses and here looks are nothing but a lively perpetuation of the 40’s and 50’s glamorous pin-ups: Ava Gardner, Rita Hayworth, Marlene Dietrich, and many, so many (and never too many) of other goddesses. Never mind the photoshopped pictures, or the sophisticated make-up, it is like any art piece, you just look from distance, that’s all. Plus she is not vulgar like the clad-strass Arab female singers like Nancy Ajram and the like. I am sorry, but there is a fine line between high class and mere blunt body teasing.

I can hear some front line feminists macking their knifes for a vengeful emasculation. To their credit (and for my safety) I have to confirm that it is not very humanist nor consistent with my claims of gender equqlity to be on a behaviour of deriving any kind of pleasure from watching Mrs Von Teese perform her talented yet regrettably shameless strip-tease show (her martini glass routine is a must see). Well, I’d say -and from a reasonable distance, safety first- that there is nothing more feminine, self-confident and audacious than a Dita Von Teese show (or more generally, a Neo-burlesque performer). Why would she be such an iconic figure? Because she is the living symbol of sexual liberation. There is more to it than just the basic instincts teasing. It is quite simply an ode to bodily perfection. The triumph of feminine sexuality is not as an object, but it is ideal people are given the choice to follow and adopt it as such.

D. Von Teese posing for a Wonderbra ad. It just confirms how classy she is. Wonderbra's Marketing guy got it spot on.

A woman-object then? Of course not! This sophisticated lady (another issue I’ll discuss later on perhaps) is an illusion, the time period it refers to however, is that golden age when women where on the verge of taking over their liberty through sexuality. Neo-burlesque does not assign as rigid or defined a norm as society was keen on to do in the Western hemisphere (though it still is in our unfortunate part of the world) for the kind of clothes more or less involved in the process.

It is, for those who yet fail to understand it, a self-derision act, a caricature as it is of feminine clothes enticing and alluring the poor working man. Corset, Stockings, High-heels were seen by many feminists as symbols of feminine submission. Neo-burlesque turns them into powerful vehicles of erotica.The fact remains though that the whole thing is designed mainly for men and appeal to their instincts. Or does it?

Good night. I have been elaborating on that too much for me to keep any future credibility. Next article will mend my ways back to the old routine. I have started on Lord Peter Mandelson’s memoirs and I can’t wait to read it up.

I am very fond of Dita Von Teese who in their right mind wouldn’t? In cqse you didn’t notice (or didn’t know, fair enough) this is a cheap attempt to bolster my audience. Do you know what is the all time hitter article in this blog? Yes, the one about Neo-Burlesque; A bad piece I wrote to let off a bit of steam at a time I felt very down hearted. Oh, first googled words that led to this blog are also refering to Dita (and suprisingly, many do not know how to spell the name correctly) THe main difference with the previous article is that I won’t bore you withschmoozing sociological mumbo jumbo, but rather discuss in simple terms why Dita’s torrid sex-appeal transcendes generations of admires and reaches, in my opinion the quintissencal xxxx of beauty and erotica. I am aware I do some damage to this blog’s reputation as an austere yet technical, but it takes all sorts and frankly unless I an given a position as professional economist in an investment bank (or better stillm Bank Al Maghrib) or even a column in The Economist, I can bloody well write what I like! thank you
So Dita Von Teese… What is it then? The vintage charm about her perhaps. She managed quite well to embody the pin-ups of the first half of 20th century, very erotic indeed, with a touch of provocation that does never veer off to vulgarity or obscenity come to think of that.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anas Alaoui said, on October 5, 2010 at 06:14

    Mec, pour faire de l’audience à ton blog il faudrait montrer DVT dans un gang-bang !!!!

  2. bet365 italia said, on October 6, 2010 at 04:36

    hello!This was a really fabulous Topics!
    I come from itlay, I was fortunate to seek your Topics in digg
    Also I obtain a lot in your Topics really thanks very much i will come every day


Leave a Reply

